juzburself

A medium to express what i think i want to express

Career Change? March 14, 2012

Filed under: A mi alrededor — juzburself @ 12:59 am

Career change involves the courage to leave your comfort zone, risk to embrace the unknown and persistence to pursue with the new job.Many people mistakenly believe that choosing a career is a one time event that happens some time in early adulthood. However, career management is actually a life-long process, and we continue to make consequential career choices over the years.

Marian Wright Edelman said “Never work just for money or for power. They won’t save your soul or help you sleep at night”. For all you know most of us work for money.But, what if we are doing the work that we really like? Work will not be work but our favorite past time right? Passion will breed great achievement too.

My father always told me, ‘Find a job you love and you’ll never have to work a day in your life’ said Jim Fox and Kahlil Gibran said “If you cannot work with love but only with distaste, it is better that you should leave your work”.

Why am i writing on career change?….because i think m gonna need it now. The first and foremost reason is because my husband is a government dietitian, so he might be transfer to another state soon. It’s been 6 years he’s working in this island. The question is….where will he be transferred? We’re still waiting for the letter.The second reason is i feel that i need a new challenge, new environment although i’ve given my services only for 4 years and 6 months. For some people, it might be too early aite..but Orison Swett Marden said “If you do not feel yourself growing in your work and your life broadening and deepening, if your task is not a perpetual tonic to you, you have not found your place”. That’s was what i felt now. YES, i did have some good exposure dealing with all the corporate people, international customers, organising events…but people said i did nothing. Wow….that is just WOW. In my work culture, i learned that you need to be a hypocrites in order to move forward.

I had an offer from 2 companies now, 1 is base in this island, 1 is in overseas. I love both offers actually but my stumbling block now is i have to wait for my husband letter. I felt so sad watching my team who is doing their work like crazy but in the end nobody appreciate their work. I believe no matter how low our post are, we don’t deserve to be despise. We do have our pride.

Right now i feel everything is just not right….It’s a bad stress for me actually because m trying to conceive. Luckily i have my husband who is always be my good listener…and this blog who will be my witness for my happiness, sadness and madness…hehhehee

So, what is my action now? I move on with my life….while waiting for my husband’s letter i do some browsing and reading and praying of course. I thought of migrating for a while, it could be fun though maybe i will find a brighter future there and i was planning on pursuing for PhD also..Somewhere in my stressful heart, i know the sun will start shining again…hehhehe.. It’s just the matter of time. InsyaAllah.

Just like Robert H. Schuller said “I’d rather attempt to do something great and fail than to attempt to do nothing and succeed’.

 

Leave a Reply

